This event has ended. Create your own event → Check it out
This event has ended. Create your own
INTERACTIVE AGENDA & MOBILE APP! The 2014 Borlaug Dialogue schedule is available in an interactive format online and on your phone. Navigate using the links below, and hover over "schedule" to select your preferred viewing format. Use the icons to the right to get this on your phone, print, or email the schedule. To register to attend, click here.
View analytic
Friday, October 17 • 10:00am - 11:00am
The Smallholder's Lifeline: Innovations in Agro-Financing and Insurance

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule and see who's attending!

avatar for Dr. Per Pinstrup- Andersen

Dr. Per Pinstrup- Andersen

2001 World Food Prize Laureate and Cornell University, H.E. Babcock Professor of Food & Nutrition
Dr. Pinstrup-Andersen life work has been characterized by a desire to alleviate the suffering of persons without sufficient nutritious food, particularly malnourished and starving children. He has been the driving force in pressing forward a global effort, The 2020 Vision Initiative to assist world leaders focus on the food security crises in the 21st Century. Dr. Pinstrup-Andersen also led research efforts which enabled the governments of... Read More →

avatar for Mohammed Amin Adam

Mohammed Amin Adam

Executive Director, Africa Centre for Energy Policy (ACEP)
Mohammed Amin Adam is the Executive Director of the Africa Centre for Energy Policy (ACEP). His experience in the public sector covered his work as an Energy Policy Analyst at the Ministry of Energy in Ghana, Commissioner of Ghana’s Public Utilities and Regulatory Commission; and as a former Deputy Minister and Mayor of Ghana’s third city of Tamale. As Specialist on Africa’s energy and governance policy, he is currently... Read More →
avatar for Dr. Marco Ferroni

Dr. Marco Ferroni

Executive Director, Syngenta Foundation for Sustainable Agriculture
Marco Ferroni is Executive Director of the Syngenta Foundation for Sustainable Agriculture. The Foundation’s mission is to modernize agriculture and small-scale farming by the route of sustainable intensification, diversification and links to markets. Scalable solutions for farmers is the motto in six work thrusts: R&D, market-led extension, seed systems incubation, risk management, policy development and outreach. Before joining the... Read More →
avatar for Ndidi Nwuneli

Ndidi Nwuneli

Co-founder, AACE Food Processing & Distribution
Ndidi Nwuneli is co-founder of AACE Food Processing & Distribution, an agroprocessing company and a partner at Sahel Capital. Nwuneli started her career as a management consultant with McKinsey & Company but returned to Nigeria to serve as executive director of the FATE Foundation in 2000. She established LEAP Africa in 2002, a leading leadership development organization, and NIA in 2003, a non-profit which empowers female university... Read More →
avatar for Dr. Jimmy Smith

Dr. Jimmy Smith

Director General, International Livestock Research Institute
Jimmy Smith, a Canadian, is the director general of the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI), a position he assumed in 2011. Before joining ILRI, he worked for the World Bank in Washington, DC, where he led the Bank’s Global Livestock Portfolio. He has also held senior positions at the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), the International Livestock Centre for Africa (ILCA), and the Caribbean Agricultural... Read More →
avatar for Dr. Kurt Weinberger

Dr. Kurt Weinberger

President, International Association of Agricultural Production Insurers
Kurt Weinberger is currently the President of the International Association of Agricultural  Insurers (AIAG). AIAG connects 101 agricultural insurers as well as reinsurers and brokers worldwide and represents a premium of 29 billion USD.  Weinberger is also the CEO of the crop insurance company (ÖHV) in Austria, which insures hail, drought, flood etc. with branches in Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia and Hungary. Weinberger... Read More →

Friday October 17, 2014 10:00am - 11:00am
Iowa Ballroom Downtown Des Moines Marriott (2nd Floor)